Thoughts and Rambles – Saying Goodbye to 2016

Hello, lovelies!

How are you doing? Can’t believe this’ the last post of 2016! This year sure has flown by. So many things happened, so many things have changed – not only in my life but in the world as well.

I tend not to talk much about politics here on the blog, since it’s a touchy subject. We all have our own opinions, and we have every right to. I can’t believe Brexit happened… And then Trump. It’s hard for me to imagine a world where those two things are possible but now we must prepare to live in that world, no matter how. It just feels like it’s a step backwards. We were going in the right direction, being more appreciative, understanding, and accepting of others. Oh well, we shall power through!

This was also the year of a major change in my personal life – I moved to another country (France). It’s not yet been a year but there are so many things that changed. The major thing has to be that, coming from a very close family and having a great relationship with (almost) every single one of them, it’s pretty hard to be so far away. Luckily I’m not alone and my boyfriend’s always there for me. It also helps that he has already lived through something similar so knows how it feels. He’s pretty supportive and makes this journey worth it.

This year away has also helped me understanding that life goes on. And that the people you leave behind move on as well. I always thought me leaving would have a bigger impact than it had for most people I know. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing, it’s great to know that they have other people behind them, supporting them, and making this slightly easier.

I’ve also discovered that some people are just not worth it. That if you don’t call, if you don’t ask how they’re doing, how they’re life’s going, they’re not going to do the same for you. People who are family, people with whom you’ve been friends for years. It’s normal, we all have our own lives and our own little worlds to be preoccupied with, but if both sides make the ‘effort’, if both sides take the time to maintain the relationship, then it works. But it’s hard because it’s easier to lose the relationship than to work to maintain it.

Also, something that I finally came to terms with this year, is that I don’t have to work hard to please everyone. No matter what you do, how you do it, there’ll always be someone who doesn’t agree, who’ll doubt you, who’ll try to know you down. I’ve finally learnt to not let them get to me, no matter who it is. I’m the one who has to have a clear conscience, I’m the one who has to be okay with who I am, with what I do and why I do it. And I being able do say that I do, no matter the relationships it costs, it’s the greatest feeling.

On a more positive note, this year I had to learn another language, one that I used to hate. And I love languages and learning them, so this learning process has been great. It has, however, also been quite stressful. I’m someone who struggles with anxiety and is very perfectionist, so the fact that I have to talk my already-good-but-still-not-perfect French to French people is something that I struggle with. I do it, of course, I have no choice. And it’s a way for me to conquer my anxiety and to practice speaking. And it’s rewarding to get the «it’s impressive how fast you’ve learnt our language and how good you already speak it» afterwards, makes it all feel worth it.

And just being in another country, adapting to a new way of life, a slightly new culture, meeting so many new people, who’re all so different from one another, it’s such an enriching experience.

Furthermore, this year I got to try some amazing new beauty products since so many websites have free shipping to France! Call me futile all you want, but I love trying new things and playing around with makeup, so it’s something that’s been great for me.

Anyways, this year has had its ups and downs but, overall, it’s been great! I can’t wait to see what next year brings 🙂

Wishing you all the happiest 2017, surrounded by those you love. Enjoy whatever life throws at you with a smile on your face and don’t let anyone dull your shine!

Love,

Alice ♥

3 thoughts on “Thoughts and Rambles – Saying Goodbye to 2016

Leave a Reply

