Favourite Lipsticks

Hello, lovelies!

I hope you’re all doing well. For today’s post, my idea was to share with you my Top 5 lipsticks. However, as soon as I started making my list, I instantly realised I couldn’t possible narrow it down to 5! So I’m bringing you all my favourites instead, which aren’t that many. From nude to bold shades, these are my favourite for all year round, and not necessarily just for Autumn. Something else to note is that I love lipsticks which are easy to apply and to wear, creamy, comfortable, not drying on the lips.

A bit of a disclaimer: please excuse the scratches on my hand, in the pictures of the swatches. I have a very playful kitty!

Also, this is not by order of preference, but from lightest to darkest.

Smart Lipstick in the shade “918 Classic Rose”, Kiko

I’m gutted! It appears this specific shade has been discontinued – or at least it has a different name now. For me this is the perfect rosy-nude lipstick, perfect for when I want to add

It appears the shade “404 Rosy Biscuit” is quite similar, and worth checking out if you’re on the hunt for this kind of shade.

Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in “Bahama”, Nars

I’m not usually a matte lip kind of gal, but I make an exception for the Nars’ velvet matte lipsticks – the shade “Bahama” is perfection! My uncle brought this one for me from the US a couple of years ago and I’ve been obsessed ever since (a brand new one already lives in my lipstick bag). It is the perfect more earthy nude! It reminds me a bit of the 90’s-inspired shades that were all the rage a few years ago. Though it’s a matte lipstick, it’s super easy to apply and comfortable on the lips. It’s not drying at all, and lasts really well.

“Crème in Your Coffee”, MAC

MAC’s cremesheen lipsticks have a creamy, balmy formula with a comforting feel, medium yet buildable coverage, and a glossy finish. “Crème in your coffee” is a mid-tone pink brown, a true “your lips but better” shade with a touch of brown. This was the second MAC lipstick I ever bought (this is a new lipstick as my original one was about 8 years old!). I just love the shade, so I had to have a new one in my collection. The undertones are very flattering, and you could pair it with either a more casual makeup look for daytime, or with a heavier one for nighttime.

Velvet Touch Lipstick in “Matte Chestnut 023”, GOSH

I said I couldn’t pick a favourite, but if I really had to pick only one single lipstick to have for the rest of my life, it’d be this one. It’s the one I reach out for the most (or I did, before we all had to wear masks). This is a very “me” shade – love myself a touch of burgundy! I know it’s a matte lipstick, but the texture is so creamy, and not heavy on the lips at all. Some of its benefits:

  • Long lasting
  • Highly pigmented colour pay-off
  • Soft & creamy texture
  • Natural waxes keep lips smooth
  • Hyaluronic Acid keeps lips hydrated

High Performance lipstick in “465 Berry Red”, ArtDeco

I bought this one last year when I was on the hunt for a brick-toned lipstick for Autumn. It’s not very brick-y in tone, but I absolutely love it! The texture is creamy and lightweight, enriched with Vitamin E to keep the lips hydrated throughout the day. As a creamsheen-y type of lipstick, it won’t last as long as a liquid lipstick, or even a matte one, but the colour and the formula make it worth it!

Maybelline Color Sensational Lipstick in “Spicy Mauve” + Dior Rouge Dior Baume in “760 Garden Party”

This lipstick combo is very special to me, as it’s the one I wore on my wedding day. I love both shades individually, but there’s just something special about these two together. Both have creamy finishes, so they won’t be the most long-lasting, but I love this type of formula so I don’t mind that. It’s a lipstick combo that I’ll wear more during Spring/Summer, and I love to pair it with a coral blush!

Dior Rouge Dior Baume in “988 Nuit Rose”

I told you I loved this formula! This is one of my most worn lipsticks in Autumn/Winter. It’s a rosy-berry shade, with a balmy finish. Thanks to its hydrating properties, it’s actually working wonders on your lips while you’re wearing it! If you, like me, are a fan of this type of lipstick, I 100% recommend checking out this range by Dior. Sure, they’re high end, but worth every penny!

Wet ‘n Wild Perfect Pout Gel Lip Liner in “Gone Burgundy”

This too is a colour I love wearing in Autumn/Winter! I’m usually not one to go for a bolder lip, as you might have noticed by now, but I open an exception for this stunning shade! It’s a very special formula that just glides onto the lips and, once it’s there, it stays put while not drying out your lips. It’s very easy to apply, and survives fairly well throughout the day.

How about you, guys? What are your favourite lipsticks? Do you share some of mine?

Thanks for reading!

Love,

Alice ❤

5 thoughts on “Favourite Lipsticks

    1. Thanks, dear! 🥰 get ready for a whole new world! Mac lippies are some of my favourites, you have so many different shades to choose from that you’re bound to find at least one you’ll love. Let me know if you end up getting one ☺️ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Will do for sure! May even get them to help me colour match one – looking forward to shopping now 😊 I have a lot of others that I probably should use first but oh well, can never have enough 😂 keep up the great blogs xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, dear ☺️ your support is deeply appreciated! I look forward to a time where one can wear lipsticks out again – I never wear one underneath my mask. And I shouldn’t, but I agree…one can never have enough lippies 😂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment