Two Weeks of Lips: How to Keep Lips Soft And Moisturised

Hello, lovelies!

How are you doing? Hope you’re having a great week 🙂 today’s the third post of my Two Weeks of Lips saga, the final one of the week. I thought I’d share with you some tips and tricks on how to keep your lips soft and moisturised.

We all know that cold’s unforgiving, always gets our lips dry and cracked if we don’t tend to them properly.But fear not, my friends, that’s what I’m here for, to show you a few ways you can stop that and keep your lips hydrated and silky smooth 😉

Adding moisture through lip balms. During the day, apply your regular lip balm. Apply it as a base for your lipstick, lip gloss or lip stain, then reapply it throughout the day, whenever your lips begin to feel dry again (which’s usually about every two hours). Also, prefer a balm with shea or cocoa butter for best results, or based on honey or argan oil. Then, at night, before going to bed, apply a layer of vaseline to give a boost of hydration!

Also, it’s important to avoid lip balms with fragrances, flavours, or dyes. These can be drying or potentially trigger irritation in some sensitive users. Choose lip balms with all-natural ingredients (no chemicals) that are free from unwanted additives. And use products that contain at least SPF 15 to avoid damage caused by the sun. Because yes, even though it might be gray and cold and rainy, there’s still sun, and the cold also leaves you with chapped lips!

As for me, I always apply my Wild Argan Solid Oil Lips balm by The Body Shop and then take my Crazy Rumors’ lip balm in Black Cherry, which has been my favourite for the past (close to) three years.

img_7826

♥Wear moisturising lipstick. Most makeup brands carry a line of moisturising lipsticks nowadays, so you are sure to find one that you like even if you’re on a budget (or just not willing to spend much on a lipstick). Just look at the ingredients and check for shea or cocoa butter, coconut or olive oil, which are all moisturising ingredients.

Scrub! As I can’t be bothered, I just use my toothbrush for this. A couple of times a week, after brushing my teeth, I take my toothbrush and (softly and gently) brush my lips, to remove any dead skin.

If, however,you want to take the extra mile, you can always make a honey, sugar, and olive oil scrub. Combine a tablespoon of honey with two teaspoons sugar and one teaspoon olive oil. Rub the mixture on your lips and allow it to sit for several minutes. You’ll see the difference it makes instantly!

Condition! As one must do with the face, the same happens on the lips. After you scrub or deep cleanse, you should moisturise, reintroduce the water and overall hydration you’ve removed with the cleanse.

So Make a coconut-citrus conditioner. Mix 2 teaspoons coconut oil, 3 drops lemon juice, and 1 teaspoon beeswax into a saucepan and melt it over low heat stirring constantly. You can also use lime juice if you don’t have any lemon juice on hand. Pour the mixture into a glass container and allow it to cool and harden. Apply it to your lips as you would a regular lip balm.

Drink a lot of water. This one’s kinda obvious, but I’ve decided to include it nonetheless because some people tend to drink less water during the colder months. It’s precisely the opposite! You should drink about 1,5 to 2 litres of water per day, to keep you healthy and hydrated. If you don’t, it’ll show on your skin. It’ll look duller, lifeless, and overall dry. So drink up! 🙂

Avoid licking your lips and try not to bite them. Most of us do this unconsciously, as a nervous habit or simply because. After writing this post, I started realising just how many times a day I was doing this and it’s impressive. So, even if you’re sitting there thinking ‘that’s not me, I don’t do that‘, you might just not notice that you do. And it really does affect your lips!

There you have it, guys. My tips & tricks on how to keep your lips soft and moisturised. Do you do any of these? Do you have any that I didn’t mention? I’d love to know!

Love,

Alice ♥

5 thoughts on “Two Weeks of Lips: How to Keep Lips Soft And Moisturised

    1. I hear great things about that one as well. During these colder months, the products we use regularly don’t work, we need to take extra measures to ensure the lips keep moisturised. Also because we tend to wear more matte lips during this time of the year, and those are drying as well. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here! I always used to forget all about it but it literally just takes 5 seconds, couldn’t be easier! I’m glad you liked the post 🙂 have a great weekend! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

