Wadrobe Essentials: What Every Woman Should Have in Her Closet

Hello, lovelies!

How are you doing? Hope everything is well 🙂 As someone who loves helping people dress better (or appropriately to an occasion), today I leave you with the wardrobe essentials, the pieces every woman should have in her closet. It does not matter if you are wealthy or nearly broke, you can still look gorgeous if you have the right items. Also, these pieces are timeless, so you can wear them now or in twenty years and look fabulous in either one!

Let me start by saying that you should purchase “the basics” before you buy “the trends”, meaning: folk patchwork may be trending now but it might not be in five years; a plain dress with a neutral colour will always be perfect! Also, invest in neutral-coloured pieces first: white, black, grey and nude are always a good option.

So this is what you should have in your closet:

  • A Good Coat

Asos 2 Asos 3 Zara 2Zara 3HMMangoHM 2Asos      Zara

From left to right, top to bottom: Asos, Asos, Zara, Zara, H&M, Mango, H&M, Asos, Zara.

A good coat is most certainly an essential piece to have in your wardrobe. And bear in mind that by “good”, I most definitely do not mean expensive. You can purchase a good coat for €30 / $35 / £25, nowadays. What I mean is a coat that is well structured and nicely cut, like any of these 🙂

*

  • A Trench Coat

Asos Mango HMMango 2  Zara 2 Zara

From top to bottom, left to right: Asos, Mango, H&M, Mango, Zara, Zara.

A trench coat is another essential, iconic piece. For those of us who cannot afford (yet! We shall get there someday 😉 ) an original Burberry trench coat, you can find plenty of more affordable options, that are still great and stylish!

*

  • A Nice, Structured Jacket

HMHM 2 MangoHM 3   Zara 2 Zara 3 Zara

From top to bottom, left to right: H&M, H&M, Mango, H&M, Zara, Zara, Zara

As I showed you on my Autumn Essentials post (here), I love me some good jackets! A well structured jacket can compliment your figure incredibly well, making it seem like you have that desirable hourglass-shaped body! Also, they can change an outfit entirely: from daytime to night-time, from casual to chic (or vice-versa)… They are most definitely an essential item to have in your wardrobe! Also, they just look cool and cute. Am I right? 😉

*

  • Blazers!

HM Mango 2 Zara 5MangoZara 2Zara 4ZaraMango 3  Top Shop  Zara 3

Top to bottom, left to right: H&M, Mango, Zara, Mango, Zara, Zara, Zara, Mango, Topshop, Zara

For those of you who do not know this, I am obsessed with blazers! I wear them almost every single day, specially when the weather is lukewarm. I think they go with almost everything: either a casual look with a tee, jeans and converse or with a more sophisticated look with trousers, a blouse and some heels! ❤

*

  • A Black Dress

bat

Miss Audrey Hepburn here turned the “Little Black Dress” into an essential piece when she starred in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. Ever since then, be it for everyday or for a more special event, from a business woman to a rocker, edgy gal, everybody can rock a black dress!

 Zara 2 Zara 7Zara 3 Zara 6Zara 4 Zara 5   Zara

All dresses are from Zara.

*

  • A Versatile Top

TopshopMango 2Mango Zara 3  ZaraZara 2  Zara 4

Top to bottom, left to right: Topshop, Mango, Mango, Zara, Zara, Zara, Zara.

A versatile top is one that you can either use casually, paired with jeans and trainers, or style it up while pairing it with a statement necklace, heels and a nice skirt or pair of trousers / jeans! See?! It goes with everything! 😉

*

  • A White Shirt / Blouse

ZaraMango 2MangoHM

Top to bottom, left to right: Zara, Mango, Mango, H&M.

A white shirt is another piece that goes with everything! You cannot go wrong with a white shirt. Pair it with jeans and converse; pair it with jeans, a cute jumper over it and some stilettos; pair it with a nice skirt or pair of trousers and some heels… Does not matter which way you go, a white shirt is always a good bet 🙂

*

  • A Proper Skirt

MangoAsos 2 Asos HM 3 HM   Zara 2 Zara 3 Zara 4Mango 2

Top to bottom, left to right: Mango, Asos, Asos, H&M, H&M, Zara, Zara, Zara, Mango.

Again, a nice skirt is another essential piece to have in your closet. Even if you are like me and not fond of wearing them, it is good to own at least one good skirt. You can find them at any store, really… Just find the style that you like the most and that suits you the better 😉

*

  • A Good Pair of Trousers

Zara 3MangoZaraMango 2  Topshop 2 Topshop

Zara 2  Zara 4

Top to bottom, left to right: Zara, Mango, Zara, Mango, Topshop, Topshop, Zara, Zara.

You can never go wrong with trousers! (I mean, you can… but I am here to try to prevent that from happening 😉 ) I confess, I wish I had more of these and that I wore them more often. I only own three pairs: a navy one, similar to the first one shown here, which I use during the warmer months because it is made of of a lighter fabric; a black pair similar to that one that is made of of a heavier fabric, which I use during Winter; and one that is pretty much the same as the third one I show you above, which I used to wear for work but now have reserved for more special occasions. As you see, you can always find opportunities to wear trousers, which you can pair with boots, booties, sandals, trainers, heels or flats 🙂

*

  • The Perfect Jeans

HM MINE HM Zara 2 Zara

Top to bottom, left to right: H&M, H&M, Zara, Zara.

H&M and Zara are my favourite places to buy jeans from. My favourite pair ever is the first one I show you here, which was actually a present from my boyfriend (I chose them, obviously, but how sweet is he? ❤ ).

The perfect pair of jeans does not have to be crazy expensive and does not have to be “Skinny Jeans”. You should find the style that suits you the better (skinny, boyfriend, mum, straight, flare, high-waisted, low-raise… You name them!). I feel like I am the most confident about myself when I am wearing my favourite jeans. It just boosts my confidence, you know? 😉

*

  • Good Knitwear

Mango 2 Zara 5Zara 3Zara 2MangoZara 7Zara 8Mango 3    Zara 4     ZaraZara 6

Top to bottom, left to right: Mango, Zara, Zara, Zara, Mango, Zara, Zara, Mango, Zara, Zara, Zara.

I love me a good jumper during these cooler months. That feeling of being warm and cozy on a rainy, gloomy day… How good is that? No? Just me? #simplepleasuresinlife

Again, it is all bout finding what works best for you, for your style and for your body. For instance, I could never wear an itchy jumper. I have OCD and feel very strongly about how things feel on my body and itchy jumpers are most definitely not welcome!

*

  • A Nude Bag

AccessorizeMango 3Zara MangoMango 2   Topshop

Top to bottom, left to right: Accessorize, Mango, Zara, Mango, Mango, Topshop.

Oh, do not get me started on bags… Specially nude ones, I just cannot resist them! They are gorgeous, super classy and go perfectly with almost everything ❤ That being said, I actually do not own a nude bag (I know, I know, shame on me!). But is top on my “to buy” list… You know, for when I win the lottery 😉

Seriously, we bought my (future) mother-in-law a gorgeous nude bag (it was actually more on the “latte” side of the colour spectrum, which was why I did not buy one for myself as well) for €7 / $8 / £5,10 a few months ago – it was from Primark, by the way. So even if you are on a budget, you can still own a very nice nude bag 😉

*

  • A Black Bag

ZaraMango 3Zara 3Zara 2Mango 2  Mango   Zara 4 Zara 5

Top to bottom, left to right: Zara, Mango, Zara, Zara, Mango, Mango, Zara, Zara.

Again, a nice black bag is a must-have in any gal’s closet! There are plenty of styles to choose from to suit your personal style the best – and the occasion as well.

*

  • A “Pop of Colour” Bag

Mango 4Mango 3Accessorize 2 HMZaraAccessorize  Mango 2 Topshop 2Topshop

Top to bottom, left to right: Mango, Mango, Accessorize, H&M, Zara, Accessorize, Mango, Topshop, Topshop.

Ohhhh! These – along with the nude ones – are my favourite bags! ❤ I just love a total black look – or a black and white one – with a colourful bag! It looks incredible, so stylish!

*

  • “Pop of Colour” Shoes

Asos 2 AsosAsos 3Zara

Top to bottom, left to right: Asos, Asos, Asos, Zara.

Again, do not get me started on shoes, specially if they are heels and specially if they are colourful (or nude, we shall get there…)! Seriously, these stilettos would make any look pop, take it to the next level!

*

  • Nude Stilettos

Asos 2 Asos 3 Asos Topshop Zara

Top to bottom, left to right: Asos, Asos, Asos, Topshop, Zara

See? I told you we would end up here 😉 oh, nude stilettos! ❤ they look so incredibly stylish, classy and elegant either with jeans, trousers, a skirt or a dress!

*

  • Black Stilettos

Asos 2 Asos 3 Asos Mango Zara

Top to bottom, left to right: Asos, Asos, Asos, Mango, Zara

How could I not include black stilettos on this list? They are most definitely a must-have in any woman’s closet. Again, they go so well with almost every single look you can think of…

*

  • Black Boots / Booties

HMHM 2     Zara 5 Zara 6 Zara 7HM 3Asos Zara 2ZaraZara 3

Top to bottom, left to right: H&M, H&M, Zara, Zara, Zara, H&M, Asos, Zara, Zara, Zara.

I looooove black boots and booties! I basically live in them during the winter time, I own four pairs (all completely different, obviously). But then I look at these pictures and I think “I want them all” (not quite all of them, some of them are not really my style, but most of them, yes…)! They are timeless and classy and elegant and can take almost every outfit to the next level 🙂

*

These are all my wardrobe essentials!

Thank you so much for reading all of that. I get excited talking about this, as I am sure you have noticed by now 😛

Love,

Alice ❤

11 thoughts on “Wadrobe Essentials: What Every Woman Should Have in Her Closet

  1. Bem, comecei a ler e pensei logo “lá vou eu ter de ir às compras”, porque quase só tenho padrões, mas até me saí bem! Só não tenho um trench coat, porque ainda não encontrei um que goste a 100%, jeans, porque prefiro calças, e um par de saltos pretos, porque não uso saltos. Ahah. Eu nem costumo seguir modas. Se o amarelo torrado está na moda agora eu já o uso há uns 2 ou 3 anos e vou continuar a usar. Estou sempre a usar tudo. E aqueles vestidos pretos da Zara são todos lindos, principalmente o primeiro, ai mãezinha!!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eu também tenho quase tudo mas confesso que me faltam umas coisinhas. Está visto, tem de me sair o euromilhões porque preciso de tratar disto 😉
      Eu senti-me mal porque pus imensa coisa da Zara mas acho que eles têm tudo, para qualquer estilo. E os preços são relativamente bons 🙂 xx

      Like

      1. Oh, então, é uma das lojas que mais gostas é normal pores coisas de lá. Era o mesmo que eu pôr tudo da H&M, embora seja um pouquinho mais barato (já não é assim tanto). Tem que se pagar a qualidade.
        Depois deste post fui ao site da Zara e já tenho uma wishlist gigante, ahah!
        xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Como eu te percebo xD eu tenho essa wishlist desde aquele post em que falei dos meus “Fashion Cravings” mas confesso que lhe adicionei umas coisinhas depois deste post 😛 xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

